A New Start: Places to go

January 6, 2009 at 5:48 pm (blog) (, , , , )

Well, needless to say, 2008 was not a very good year.  Having to deal with my own illness, and watching as my mom’s health deteriorated, did not leave me with very fond memories of what 2008 brought.  It’s so easy to only remember the bad, and allow it to overshadow all of the good.  I try my best to refocus myself and take notice of the positive things that came my way… the happy memories that were made with friends and family, the new fuzzy addition to my own little household, plans and dreams made for the future.

I am thankful for a new start.  Every new year is welcomed, since it seems to bring with it a clean slate.  2009 seems even that much sweeter because of all that was faced and all that was overcome in the previous year.

I intentionally have not made a list of “New Year Resolutions”, mainly because every year I made one, and every year I accomplish very little.

I do, however, want to make a list of plans that I will follow through with.  Giving it a different name gives it a different feeling all together.

 

So, I’m going to start my planning list with some places I want to go in 2009.  I have put off travel for one reason or another, be it time, or lack of money, or family obligation.  Something I’m realizing, though, is when you let that stuff get in the way, it really starts to wear on you.  You begin to have a list of regrets instead of a list of accomplishments.  So here’s a start.  I’ll add to this as I think of new places:

Day trips:

  • Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC
  • Mammoth Cave, KY – I’d love to take Alexander to this
  • Rock City, TN Aquarium, Chattanooga, TN
  • Cherokee, NC
  • Fall Creek Falls, TN

Weekend trips:

  • Cades Cove, TN
  • Diamond Mine in AK
  • Ozarks, AK
  • Amish Country
  • Chicago
  • Memphis
  • Pickett State Park, TN
  • Colonial Williamsburg, va
  • Atlanta, GA

vacations:

  • Savannah, GA
  • Panama City, FL
  • West Coast

What about you?  Where do you want to go?

Permalink 3 Comments