Letting Go

November 18, 2009 at 11:30 pm (blog)

It’s such a strange thing to have to watch a person slowly drift from one realm to another.  It’s something I was hoping to not have to witness again… especially this soon.  It digs up all of the anxiety and frustration, the questions and the mystery… everything that I experienced while watching my Mom pass last Christmas.

When does letting go become easier?  What makes such a difference that one day we are praying that there is miraculous healing to suddenly wishing for the end of the suffering to come.  It’s a wobbly tightrope I find myself on.

More than likely, within the next few days my family will be saying last goodbyes to another loved one.  This can’t, and shouldn’t, be minimized by a few rambling words on a blog post.  It is a heart-breaking, gut-wrenching sort of situation, but it’s comforting to know there is more happening than we realize.

The hospice nurses gave us some things to read about the process.  It struck me as sort of eerie that people, other than those that pass quickly, generally go through the same sort of process, reaching various steps of transitioning along the way.

One thing that really helped me was a short poem that was in one of the little books.  I can’t remember it word for word, but the analogy that really spoke to me.  It compared the process of death to watching a ship slowly drift toward the horizon.  We watch yearningly… helplessly… until suddenly the moment comes when it is no longer the dot on the horizon line.  It is just out of sight, but it is still there in all of its glory.  There is comfort in that.

It is my hope that in this season of loss we can all experience it in that way.

1 Comment

  1. Kathy T. said,

    I hate this for you. My thoughts and prayers…

Leave a Reply

