Movie Review: Skeleton Key

October 19, 2009 at 11:04 pm (blog)

The-Skeleton-Key

*SPOILER ALERT*

With it being the Halloween season, I thought I would watch a few scary movies over the course of a couple of weeks.

I was expecting this movie to be your usual creepy movie with a typical suspense plot.  It began as just that, slowly building the story around a couple of vaguely interesting characters.  I could immediately relate to Kate Hudson’s character:  a simple girl looking for a change.

The story is set in the deep south, which is obvious from the first few scenes of big trees covered with spanish moss.  As it became more clear that the actual setting was New Orleans, I assumed that things were going to get a little more intense since there is such a prevalence of Voodoo in that area.

My first instinct was that it was going to end with an unsuspected character being responsible for all of the mayhem.  As it turns out, I was right… but I was way off on who the character actually was.

I found the glimpses of the past to be an interesting touch, though I feel like it could’ve been carried a little farther than it was.

There were a few startling moments that made me jumpy, but nothing too “horror” like.  The unknown seemed to be what really kept me interested.

As the movie reached its climax, it became clear that the spirits of the past were actually responsible for the happenings to the other characters.  It became some sort of reincarnation spell that would allow the spirits to zap the remaining life from the main characters.

I enjoyed the twist that I didn’t see coming.  I am also thankful that it was not overdone.  It was just creepy enough without any of the gore that most horror flicks have these days.

All in all, I would recommend this movie if you aren’t looking for something super scary.

Leave a Reply

