Unintentional Mediocrity

March 8, 2009 at 4:20 pm (blog)

Have you ever come to the realization that your life is mediocre, at best?  You sort of wake up, look around, and wonder how in the world you have become so content with just existing.  It didn’t used to be this way.  Little by little, the mundane took over, and without setting goals and putting a game plan into place, you wake up to the same day, everday.  Time and time again, you are frustrated by the sense of stagnation that surrounds you.

I find myself here.  It’s something that I’ve experienced before, and had made a vow to never let it happen again.  I blame myself, but then I also realize that only blaming myself will make it worse.

It’s a combination of factors, really.  They add up over time, creeping in and grabbing hold of the part of you that wants to stay in bed all day.  It makes me find justification by the many excuses I can come up with that all make sense.

There is a theory I’ve had for a while.  It’s about unintentionally being unintentional.  If you fail to be intentional in your life, then the unintentional mediocrity is bound to take over.

The first step in overcoming this is recognizing it.  This is where I am today.

With so much potential and so much possibility, it’s really a crime to just sit back and let this happen.

And so with that… I am taking the first step in putting a stop to it.  Join me.

1 Comment

  1. Lorenzo said,

    I hear you. I feel that way myself right this moment. It had not occurred to me until I read your post. It goes without saying that I can’t let this continue, so I’ll join you. Tell me, what’s your first step?

Leave a Reply

