Delving into the Past

November 2, 2008 at 7:01 pm (blog, Blogroll, history, journal, nashville, photo)

I am, yet again, sincerely apologizing for neglecting this blog o’mine.  Now that I have a separate site at http://www.sallykentphotography.com I think I will be able to contribute more to this side of things.  This will continue to be my personal blog, as well as the home of “Experiencing Nashville”.

I have recently discovered the Nashville Archives, where much of Nashville’s historical past is kept in chronicled form for whomever desires to dive in.  Even better, the Archives is housed in a building very near where I live!   In the near future, I plan on taking this blog deeper on the path of the “Experiencing Nashville” series.  

I’m looking forward to satisfying my thirst for knowledge of our past.  I think understanding where we came from is an important part of where we end up in the future.

I hope you will stick around!

4 Comments

  1. Deshonette Franklin-Winters said,

    Hello Ms. Kent,
    Just a little note to say thank you, I have truly enjoyed your site. I am currently living in Nashville but my time here is running out and I will be leaving very soon! Bound by my excitement and need to know more about how the Childress family came to owning Moses A. Clark and I had heard that his mother’s name was Heggar Metcalf. Do you have any information on her? In addition, who was she owned by, was it a Clark family? Maybe that is how we/our family came by the name.
    Sincerely, Deshonette Franklin-Winters

  2. Charles Holman said,

    Hi Ms. Franklin-Winters:

    Are you a descendant of Moses Clark too? I have limited information on Moses Clark’s mother, but my research suggests that her name might originally have been Maria Clark. It’s possible it was later changed as I suspect Moses Clark’s name was changed from his original name. I could be wrong. Therefore, I would love to hear about your research.

    The Clark surname comes from Moses Clark’s father, George Clark, Jr., (1802 – 1856) a white slaveholder who moved west after inheriting Moses Clark’s mother from his father’s slave holdings.

    As for Stephen W. Childress (1826 – 1903), who served both as a judge in Nashville and as an Attorney General in Arkansas, he came to own Moses Clark (1834 – 1924) as a slave about 1857. He purchased Moses Aaron Clark from Clark’s father’s estate, George Clark Jr. , after the latter died intestate in 1856. One more obscure biography published about 1888 says that Moses Clark was purchased off the auction block. The most widely distributed biography of Moses Clark is contained in the book, “Beacons Lights of the Race” by G.P. Hamilton, 1911. It names Stephen Childress as one of his enslavers. Many libraries across the county, NYC Public Library, Univ. of Michigan, etc. etc. have this rare book and will lend it to you through interlibrary loan. You can also read this book online through a Google search.

    Moses Clark was one of the earliest black lawyers in Arkansas. Originally he was a barber thanks to an appentistship Childress allowed him. Later, Clark was a judge during Reconstruction (Justice of the Peace), a city alderman in Helena Arkansas, newspaper publisher, and became a wealthy and influential businessman after Reconstruction. His son Dr David L. Clark was a 1901 graduate of Meharry Medical College. His wife, Georgia Anna, attended Berea College, a very rare achievement for a 19th century African American woman. Please contact me at: theebest1@aol.com if you’d like more info on Moses Clark. — Charles Holman

    • freddie pandy said,

      moses a clark is in family and s t boyd in my fmily to freddie pandy904 924-847

  3. freddie pandy said,

    or904 305-1169

Leave a Reply

