home, sweet home

February 18, 2008 at 12:54 pm (ambulance, asthma, blog, depression, emergency room, health, life questions, monday, questioning, rant, sadness, struggle, suffering, support)

I am back home now, sleeping in my own bed. It’s a great feeling. They released me from Vandy on Saturday evening. The Dr said that if they were to keep me there until I was feeling 100% better that I would probably be there all next week. Since my oxygen levels and lung functions were pretty stable, they felt like it was safe for me to be at home, with the understanding that I am not to do much of anything at all for the next week. I was a little shocked and horrified at that statement. One more week out of work and school… one more week of boredom and restlessness. I tried to negotiate something with them, but I guess Vandy Docs are supposed to know what they are doing. They are pretty smart like that.

So I’m regaining some strength slowly, not needing to depend on my breathing treatments quite as often, staying on all of my gross meds that make me feel unhuman. I tried to do some stuff around here yesterday.  I washed the two sinkfuls of dishes and started tackling the huge laundry basket full of towels that seems to be ever present.  I think I tried to do too much, but maybe it was good for me.  I feel so restless and stir crazy.

I am also having a lot of anxiety.  I know the meds do this to me, and I am somewhat anxious on any given day, but this feels a little more than usual.  A lot of it is from trying to figure out the practical things in life.  How in the world am I going to pay my bills after being out of work for 2 weeks??  What can I do to prevent another bad flareup like this so this never happens again?  There are just so many things I’m going to have to figure out.

So, if anyone has any suggestions on anything at all, let me know!  I can definitely use all of the mental assistance I can get!  Anyone need any photos done so I can buy some groceries? 🙂

2 Comments

  1. bookbabie said,

    Sorry to hear of your illness, must have been very scary. I’m glad your home now, feel better:)

  2. Scott said,

    Hey girl! glad you finally made it home. We have all been worried about you on a daily basis. Unfortunatly, you were not the only one out. Wini was sick and absent all week also. Luckily, Kate cancelled program on Wed. due to snow. Take it easy and let us know if we can do anything for you!

Leave a Reply

