desperately needing normalcy

January 22, 2008 at 2:01 pm (asthma, belief, blog, Blogroll, depression, health, journal, life questions, nashville, questioning, struggle, suffering, support)

It’s sort of strange to sit down and try to think back to the time when things felt “normal”.  After all, it is a very relative idea.  What is normal for me may not be normal for you.  I guess that is the first step, figuring out what normal should look like, then figuring out how to get there.  It seems like such a gradual process that life runs on.  Things creep along, until suddenly it’s out of control.

I’m feeling pretty down and out today, for some reason.  I guess it is the effects of all the meds.  I hardly slept a wink last night… lots of weird, shaky, anxiety-type feelings.  I’ve read that the medicines can do that, as well as contribute to the fatigue and mental confusion/brain fog.  I hate that feeling.  I’m also dealing with muscle aches and pains from the physical tension of everything.  It feels like I ran a marathon… jello legs and all.  Geez

So, I’m going to lay low for one more day, and hopefully tomorrow I can resume life.  I’m really nervous as to try and jump back in, since I usually have the tendency to sort of  push myself when I shouldn’t.  I need to learn how to recognize what my body is telling me, and respond accordingly.  I guess that is a lesson that should apply to most areas of life.

I’m battling extreme cabin fever, but I know that I really can’t chance doing much of anything right now.  I may leave the house for just long enough to get out, but that will be the extent of it.  Maybe a visit to the bookstore wouldn’t hurt.

I’ve also got some photo assignments that I need to do for my classes.  We are starting with black/white photography, which I love.  I’ve gotten so out of the habit of taking random photos.  I need to work on that.  Maybe I’ll take my camera with me, just in case I run across anything particularly interesting.

I guess that is all for now

Until next time

2 Comments

  1. Nashville is Talking » Brain fog said,

    […] the physical tension of everything.  It feels like I ran a marathon… jello legs and all.  Geez [desperately needing normalcy – Just Another Pilgrimage – 01-22-08] Spread It Around: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and […]

  2. katnanna said,

    Have you tried Yoga or Tai-Chi – these forms of exercise help to focus on what is going on inside yourself. You begin to listen to your own body and not what everyone around you is telling you about your body. They relieve tension and stress and permote a better nights sleep. Hope all gets better for you.

    Kat
    balancedbodynmind.com

Leave a Reply

