best laid plans

January 16, 2008 at 12:15 am (acheivement, blog, gym, health, journal, nashville, weight, weight loss, workout, ymca)

Unfortunately, I never made it to the gym like I said I would.  It’s not my fault really.  Since I have been having breathing trouble, and having to wake up enough to take breathing treatments throughout the night, I took a nap today before work.  I usually hate naps.  Not just dislike them…hate them.  Unless I am completely in for the night, and have no need for being productive for the rest of the day.  Naps leave me more groggy than before I went to sleep.  In the mornings, it takes me a good hour to wake up and feel alert enough to face the world.  And that is with coffee.

So, what actually woke me up from my nap was my breathing… or lack thereof.  I was having an asthma attack.  That doesn’t really happen very often.  I usually catch it before it’s really bad and take a treatment to head it off.  I don’t know what brought it on, but it was scary.  If you have never experienced an asthma attack, or something similar, then it is really hard to understand.  Even after starting a breathing treatment, it is literally a waiting game until the meds actually start to make the bronchial tubes unseize themselves enough for air to move freely.  What an awful, horrible feeling.

That is when I decided against the gym for today.  I turned on the tv and did some mild arm lift, and some marching in place to get my blood pumping a little bit.  URG It’s going to be a long road.

… and yet again, my YMCA dues are accomplishing nothing more than keeping the floors nice and shiny.

1 Comment

  1. Jeffrey said,

    asthma sucks. even after a bad attack, your chest stays feeling like an elephant is sitting on it, and you just can’t seem to muster the energy to do anything. I know how ya feel.

    I’m a personal trainer at a gym in mt. juliet, sally. If I can be any help or if ya have any questions, just let me know.

Leave a Reply

