how much is enough?

October 30, 2007 at 12:46 pm (answer, belief, blog, Blogroll, friendship, god, helping, introspective, journal, life questions, potential, pretending, questioning, rant, reflecting, struggle, suffering, support, Uncategorized)

 

In my line of work, I’m constantly around people that need help.  More specifically, I’m constantly around people that come to me for help.  More often than not, I feel pretty inadequate in my ability to give them what they need.  It’s quite a helpless feeling. The things is, I’m not sure that they really know what it is they need exactly.  They just know that something has to change.

How many of us are in that same boat?  I know I am.  I’m not necessarily looking for a right answer, I just need someone to help me get started.  More than anything, it helps to know that I’m not alone.

I rarely have any answers, for myself or anyone else.  I’m not sure life works that way.  Strangely, I’m noticing that the less I feel responsibility to “do” something, the more helpful I can actually be.

Sometimes its not in having the right answer.  As a matter of fact, there rarely is an answer.  Everything is a process.  What people really want is someone to be with them to walk through that process, or to help them take the very first step that may seem so daunting.

I think if we can get away from feeling such a need to have the right answer, only then can we really get down to what it’s all truly about.

Leave a Reply

