perplexed

October 17, 2007 at 10:14 am (blog)

Throughout each day I constantly have things going on in my head.  I occasionally have great ideas and think profound thoughts.  I get antcy and want to share everything with the world.  I get a rush thinking about a relaxed evening with a good book.

And then, guess what happens?  Anytime I actually sit down to write, I freeze up.  My thoughts seem to vanish in thin air.  Any thought worth sharing eludes me, until finally I sit my laptop down in defeat.  Even when I pick up a book, something in me doesn’t quite let my senses become entwined in the pages.

Am I the only one?  Does anyone else have these patterns of unproductiveness caused by none other than themselves?   It is quite frustrating!  It makes me, again, question myself and any thought that I might possibly want to share.  The inner critic speaks loudly.

So, all of that to say, I love to write.  I love being moved by the words in a book, or on the computer screen.  I just wish I could do more of it, and actually do it well.  I guess the only thing that will make it easier is time and practice.

Leave a Reply

