a long week

October 4, 2007 at 2:24 am (Uncategorized)

I’ve been in GA for the past week.  My mom had surgery last Friday.  Cancer has returned to ravage her body.  It has left all of us feeling pretty helpless.  The goal of this operation was to remove the cancer that had began to grow on her lymph nodes.  That’s a scary thought, considering that anytime you hear of cancer making it to the lymph nodes, it’s usually not good.  However, according to the surgeon who performed the operation, he does 4 or 5 of these sorts of operations a week.  I guess it’s a lot more common than we realize.

So, since last Friday, my mom has been in the hospital.  My dad has been staying with her, refusing to leave her side.  I’ve been driving back and forth every day (except for yesterday… I desperately needed to rest).  The 2 hr drive, one way, really takes its toll.  Usually I’m in the car just as much as I am visiting my mom.

Anyway, the good news is that she can come home tomorrow.  The recovery wasn’t as quick as any of us had hoped.  The docs originally said that she would probably come home Monday.

It’s been a long, draining week.  It’s taken more out of me than I expected.  I’ve noticed that the more each of us have gotten worn down, the more we snip at each other.  I know there is sort of an underlying fear of the unknown for all of us.  There are plenty of “what ifs” that are going through my mind.  All I can do is try to stay positive and push forward.  I have to lean on my faith, and my support network of friends and family to pull me through.

I’m off to bed.  Tomorrow holds the last drive to the hospital.  That will make life a lot easier for all of us.

1 Comment

  1. reba said,

    I am glad she gets to come home so soon!

Leave a Reply

