fall cleaning

September 4, 2007 at 4:52 am (Uncategorized)

My roomate and I decided to do fall cleaning today.  Ok, so it’s still like 95 degrees outside, with no relief in sight.  Technically fall will not grace us with its presence for quite some time, but let me be dillusional for a minute.

Just like each season brings about a cleansing, so does my house deserve the same treatment.  I always forget how much better I feel with things are kept up (ie. not completely trashed).  I’ve never been much of a neat freak.  I have my idiosyncrasies, but that isn’t one of them.  I do have some things I have to keep in some sort of order so I don’t go crazy, but I wish I was an obsessive cleaner.  We have this joke in my house that I’m the best ‘deep cleaner’ when it comes to our roomate duties, if that gives you any idea what our house is usually like.  The Charlie Brown character, Pigpen, comes to mind.

I haven’t left my house today, except for some quick errands this morning.  I bought a really pretty wall hanging candle holder from someone on craigslist (which is my current obsession).  We made the exchange, then I went to look for a new lens.  After having absolutely no luck, I came back home feeling somewhat defeated.

Really, I got a lot done today, but it just doesn’t feel like I was very productive.  I mean, come on, it’s not called Labor Day for nothing.  Or maybe since I’ve never actually gone into labor I’m unable to fully appreciate the meaning of the holiday.  Regardless, I had a day off, and that counts for something.

So, apart from cleaning and doing laundry, I was a bum today.  I’m still in my pjs, and I have no intention of changing them before I get into bed.  I’m going to soak up this Labor Day (or lack of labor) for all it’s worth.

I have to do the lesson plans next week, but I’ve already got most of it done.  I love our technological age.  It allows for so much time to be saved that would otherwise have to be done while actually sitting at a desk.

I’ve sort of been in a funk today.  I blame it on hormones, but I’m not sure what the true culprit is.  I’m hoping it passes…it usually does.

I think, overall, I’m just lonely.  Lonely for what, I’m not sure.  I have great friends.  I have a close family that wishes I would stay in Blue Ridge so we could see each other all the time.  My fuzzy little friends keep me great company, even though I’m still dying to get a dog I can cuddle with who will actually cuddle back.

I’m not really sure what I’m looking for, I just know it’s not there.  I’m sure someday I’ll say “wow, this is it!”, but right now I’m clueless as to what “it” is.  Maybe it’s better that way.

Can I even tell you how exciting I am that this will be a short work week.  Since I have Friday’s off anyway, I will only be working 3 days.  Woo hoo!   That’s my kind of work week.

I’m not doing so good on the photo-a-day thing.  Unless you could baby hamster photos, I haven’t really been taking much.  I miss my camera.  This Sony really eats up the batteries, so I don’t pull it out as much as I would if I didn’t have to charge them after taking 5 photos.

That’s really about all that’s going on with me.  I mainly just wanted to write just to keep in the habit.  It’s way too easy to put things off until one day you don’t even realize you put it off.  It just becomes something you used to do.  I have a lot of those things.

Alright, it’s getting late, and I’m still hormonally rambling (hmm I’m not sure about that phrase).  It’s almost bedtime.

Do yourself a favor and do your own kind of fall cleaning…just because it’s good for you.

Leave a Reply

